Shotgun Approach

I’m going to see Pearl Jam tonight for the fifth time. Being in general a staunch opponent of emotion, I would never admit to being excited about anything, but I suppose I can say that I am looking forward to the show – enough so that I’m finding my thoughts a little too scattered to develop a cohesive blog post.

So I’m going to shotgun out some theme ideas, most of which, or possibly all of which, will be crap. My intention isn’t to develop these into story outlines, at least not in this post, but rather to generate a bunch of theme “seeds” I can build on later. For this exercise I think I’ll have a one-word theme followed by a rough (very rough) idea on how I’d like to explore the theme. (Oh, I’m starting with “theme 2” because theme 1 was in my last post).

Theme 2 – redemption: emotion is a disease that creates only transitory and insubstantial good but significant tangible long-term bad.

Theme 3 – love: the only real solution to the world’s problems is for humans to stop breeding entirely.

Theme 4 – justice: the difference between justice and revenge is often imperceptible.

Theme 5 – change: fear of change has become one of the most powerful forces in society.

Theme 6 – morality: it’s destructive that most people champion morality but scorn lawfulness.

Theme 7 – faith: the atheist may scorn faith, but even if it’s misplaced it can be a powerful force.

I think that’s a reasonable start. These are all seeds of course. I’m sure when I read this again in a day or two I’ll probably be a bit confused for some of these ideas, how I was planning on joining that theme with that concept of exploring it. It doesn’t matter much, the underlying concept is what’s important here.

There’s no point writing something that’s already been written. But I’d like to think the human experience or the human condition is rich and varied enough that there will always be new ways to explore old themes. That’s what these experiments with theme are all about. A theme like ‘love’ has been explored in countless formats by countless artists. So it’s done to death, right? Nothing more to be said? I don’t think so. I think that everyone’s experience with love is a little different, and that with a little effort it’s possible to find something new to say about it. And the really great thing about it is that love is such a universal concept that you’re bound to find an audience who cares enough about the theme to stick with the story.

 

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

